2022 Household Finance Review - ConsumerAffairs (2022)

A link has directed you to this review. Its location on this page may change next time you visit.

Page 1 Reviews 0 - 10

2022 Household Finance Review - ConsumerAffairs (1)

2022 Household Finance Review - ConsumerAffairs (2)

James of Atlanta, GA Verified Reviewer

Original review: May 13, 2017

When you look up the term PREDATORY LENDER, you will find this company's name. When you look up the term PRICE GOUGING CROOKS, you will find this company's name. If you want and example of IGNORANT, UNPROFESSIONAL personnel, give them a call. If you want to experience a healthy dose of STUPIDITY, give them a call. My elderly parents somehow ended up with their mortgage transferred to these CLOWNS. These people caused them nothing but GRIEF. Thank God I was able to get them refinanced with Suntrust. If our current government wasn't so screwed up I would petition to put these JERKS out of business.

28 people found this review helpful

2022 Household Finance Review - ConsumerAffairs (3)

Jill of Greenville, MI Verified Reviewer

Original review: Aug. 5, 2016

How horrible and disgusting that this company is not taken down and preys on older people or people with disabilities. My mother died last year and her house still had a mortgage on it from HFC. I couldn't believes this low life company that makes their rules unbelievable. It made me sick to deal with this company. Can't you see all the complaints, can't everyone get ahold of their congressmen and tell them about this horrible company?

Found out in 1998 my mother who after a stroke decided after we bailed her out from foreclosure that HFC said "well we will give you 50,000.00." Of course not in her right mind she did this, that she did not know about this plus they put the wrong address on her house. Unreal. This really sickened me when I found out. She paid and paid and paid way over 100,000. Sold her estate. Stated that she owed a little over 22,000. They called for final payment and wanted 26000. Unreal. Had to give it to these low life, money hungry thieves. Never ever do any business with this company. They are predators. They should not allowed to be in business. Doesn't this company read ANY OF THE REVIEWS? There is a special place in hell for these type of people. And if you're just working for them for a job get out now. Don't associate yourselves with this company.

(Video) Caliber Home Loans Review - Samantha

26 people found this review helpful

2022 Household Finance Review - ConsumerAffairs (4)

Cathy of Burien, WA Verified Reviewer

Original review: June 1, 2015

Before I could relinquish my house in Shoreline, Wa on ** to the new buyer and complete the title my payoff was 30,000. They would not let it go until I said 170,000. I was devastated. Windermere and the title company both have never heard of that. They talked with both of them. At the time I had missed two payments and needed to sell plus on just left my job on disability after 25 years with end stage liver disease, severe encephalopathy, kidney stones, one kidney needed removal. I could not communicate well and had to go along with whatever they said.

The original mortgage was 65,000 sold for 209,000 lost my shirt I believe I had 20,000. I had one short phone call with HFC and never talked again I am still very upset. I had a liver transplant a few years ago and this is the first time since then I felt like finding out if anyone could follow up on it. I know it was real old I would understand. I worked for Wa state public health laboratory for 25 years in Shoreline, Wa. After the transplant I have been hospitalized 34 times long recovery. Please let me know if you need anything else my ssa# is **, dol **, bs **. Thank you.

20 people found this review helpful

2022 Household Finance Review - ConsumerAffairs (5)

Margaret of Vance, AL Verified Buyer

Original review: May 14, 2015

I made a loan with Household Finance in 2008 for $5000.00. At the time I bought the disability insurance in case I got sick. In 2009 I had a heart attack, open heart surgery. I was unable to return to work because of my heart. My physicians said I could never return to work. I filed for the disability insurance and the doctors gave all my health insurance information to the insurance company. I was place on their "so called" disability insurance. I noticed that my balance did not come down, and I even called one time and asked about it, but I was give no information.

Then, in January 2015, I was notified that I would not have the disability insurance after February 2015, because I was turn 70. I really do not remember anything about that, but I know that at this time, I owe almost 5000.00. If I had known that interest etc. would continue, and I would never get this debt paid, (please remember I paid a minimum of a year before I got sick), I would have not used the disability insurance. In the meantime, my husband has been placed in a nursing home, and my income is extremely limited, but they want me to start again making payments. It is either medicine and food or pay Springleaf aka Household Finance.

(Video) PHH Mortgage Review - Janet

21 people found this review helpful

2022 Household Finance Review - ConsumerAffairs (6)

Phyllis of Boca Raton, FL

Original review: May 8, 2015

They are refusing to send to either me or to the IRS a revised 1099c that was incorrectly sent to us. The 1099c was finally sent to the correct person but I can not file my taxes because I can not get a corrected one. The IRS says by law they have to send it to me but they refused.

20 people found this review helpful

2022 Household Finance Review - ConsumerAffairs (7)

Laura of Portland, OR Verified Reviewer Verified Buyer

Original review: April 29, 2015

I received a notification of a loan transfer which was an actual sale of my modified loan. It was to Select Portfolio Servicing. They also dropped my home owners insurance that was to be included in the modification by Caliber. So now, more money coming out of my pocket on a minimum wage job. HOW can they do this after court proceedings and monthly on-time payments? Just so frustrating after battling a illness that could have very well killed me in 2009. I am still trying to get back on my feet, even after losing my job. I am trying to stay in my house. THANK YOU Household/Caliber for your harassment when I was sick to now. Hope you get this from Consumer Affairs. It's downright dirty on how I treated. What good did the lawyer I hired do?

(Video) Debt Consolidation FAQs with Barbara Friedberg

22 people found this review helpful

2022 Household Finance Review - ConsumerAffairs (8)

Gregory of Virginia Beach, VA Verified Reviewer

Original review: April 28, 2015

They are without a doubt the worst mortgage company in our United States! My wife and I suffered 14 years with an outrageous APR of 10.5% and non-payment of property taxes and insurance. Their customer service is horrid. They pass the buck throughout their system. When you call them you are speaking to someone in India. They will do everything and anything to hinder you from refinancing your home with some other mortgage company. Finally after 14 years of torture we are free from these monsters! Never finance or borrow from Household Finance!

35 people found this review helpful

2022 Household Finance Review - ConsumerAffairs (9)

Original review: April 3, 2015

In 1998 we secured a second mortgage with Bank One. The bank filed the necessary paperwork with the county and then assigned our mortgage to Household Finance. We never received any assignment information from Household, only a month statement. We were told we could not pay it off or refinance the loan for two years. Already knowing how awful this company was, we counted the days. At the two year mark, we refinanced the loan with Fleet Mortgage who issued Household a check for the balance. We never heard from them again. While trying to refinance our home fifteen years later, we came across the original lien held by Bank One. It had never been released nor changed to Household.

I have spent 23 months trying to get a release from them and get a different story every three weeks when I call. I have spent hundreds of dollars faxing them copies of HUD papers showing they were paid, copies of the payoff check and other information requested. I have spoken to dozens of people who have made thousands of promises. I am finally getting a lawyer. I have lost thousands of dollars in interest paid to my mortgage company now because I could not refinance my loan at the lower rate due to Household Finance refusing to send this lien release. Still waiting...

(Video) ConsumerAffairs | Quin - Exclusive Offer

28 people found this review helpful

2022 Household Finance Review - ConsumerAffairs (10)

susan of Danbury, CT Verified Reviewer

Original review: Feb. 28, 2015

We lost the battle in June paying both mortgages. My main bank worked with us and I received a loan modification. Hfc refused, and my calls and letters and faxes went unanswered. On Dec 19, 2014 I tried one last time to call and was put over to the escalation unit who informed me I was put in a special program and they are writing off the second mortgage and will no longer report to the credit bureau. I was in shock but asked the correct questions. It is now Feb 28th and I have still not received any paperwork backing this up, nor my 1098 and 1099 forms. Without either I cannot fax to their lien dept to get paperwork confirming they released the lien. I called back again and was told they are very busy... while hfc is courtly removed from my credit report, something is not right behind the scenes and I don't know who else to call. I cannot afford to hire an attorney.

20 people found this review helpful

2022 Household Finance Review - ConsumerAffairs (11)

Sally of Fort Madison, IA Verified Reviewer

Original review: Nov. 19, 2014

Our account with HFC was closed 2/12/02 after being paid in full. We recently discovered while trying to obtain a new mortgage that HFC had never filed for a lien release of our property. I called several times and was told that the release had been filed with our county clerks office. I checked three times and nothing had ever been filed. I was even given the check number and date that they claimed to have sent it. This information was in turn given to the county clerk who did a thorough search and found nothing. I tried to call again today and the number I used before has been issued to a new business. Went to the web, looked up phone number for headquarters, it's been disconnected. Needless to say the time frame for our new mortgage has passed and I'm out the $450 I had to pay the title search company. I really don't know what to do next.

26 people found this review helpful

FAQs

Who took over household finance? ›

On November 14, 2002, HSBC announced the acquisition of Household International Inc for a total value of US$15.3 billion.

What happened to HFC? ›

It was merged with HSBC in 2004 after a loan fraud scandal. Learn how the Household Finance Corporation scandal affected customers and what the attitudes of the corporation's leader and those tasked with protecting consumers say about the causes of the 2008 financial crisis.

Who bought HFC Bank? ›

HFC Bank and Beneficial Bank merged in 1998 and in 2003, Household International Inc. and HFC Bank plc became part of the HSBC group.

Does HFC Bank still exist? ›

All remaining accounts were transferred from HFC Bank Limited to HSBC Bank plc, both members of the same group of companies, and are now held by HSBC UK Bank plc'.

Is HFC Bank part of HSBC? ›

HFC Bank has several meanings including: HSBC Finance - A financial services company and a member of the HSBC Group.

When did HSBC buy household? ›

Household was bought for $14.8 billion in 2003, in HSBC's biggest ever acquisition, led by former chairman John Bond.

Who did HSBC sell their mortgages to? ›

HSBC Finance Corp. and HSBC Bank USA NA agreed and completed Feb.

Is HSBC still in business? ›

HSBC serves customers worldwide from offices in 64 countries and territories in its geographical regions: Europe, Asia, North America, Latin America, and Middle East and North Africa. With assets of US$2,959bn at 31 March 2021, HSBC is one of the world's largest banking and financial services organisations.

What is the new name for HFC Bank? ›

HFC Bank finally changes name to Republic Bank.

Is HFC Bank an international bank? ›

Today, HFC Bank (Ghana) limited is one of the leading providers of international trade service in Ghana with correspondent banks with worldwide network.

Is HFC Bank the same as Republic Bank? ›

Republic Financial Holdings Group is the leading Bank in Caribbean region, headquartered in Trinidad and Tobago with a 180-year old history. In April, 2018 HFC Bank rebranded to Republic Bank.

Who took over Household bank FSB? ›

First Fidelity Bancorp. continued its drive into the Maryland market yesterday, announcing that it agreed to take over 24 branches of Household Bank FSB, increasing its share of deposits in the state by more than 50 percent.

What is HFC finance? ›

Housing Finance Companies (HFCs) are a part of NBFCs. You can choose between a bank or an HFC by comparing tenure, interest rate, and processing fees offered by them.

Who is HFC? ›

Hydrofluorocarbons (HFCs) are a group of industrial chemicals primarily used for cooling and refrigeration. HFCs were developed to replace stratospheric ozone-depleting substances that are currently being phased out under the Montreal Protocol on Substances that Deplete the Ozone Layer.

Is Marks and Spencer owned by HSBC? ›

M&S Bank is part of the HSBC Group. M&S Bank launched in 2012 on the foundations of M&S Money, which was established in 1985 as the financial services division of Marks and Spencer plc.

Which is the largest housing finance company in India? ›

  • HDFC. Founded in 1977, The Housing Development Finance Corporation Limited (HDFC) is one of the largest providers of housing finance in India. ...
  • LIC Housing Finance. ...
  • AAVAS Financier. ...
  • Indiabulls Housing Finance. ...
  • PNB Housing Finance. ...
  • HUDCO. ...
  • Can Fin Homes. ...
  • Home First Finance Company.
6 Jul 2022

Did HFC Bank sell PPI? ›

HFC is part of HSBC, and was fined £1.09 million by the Financial Services Authority for mis-selling PPI. The regulator highlighted that between 2005 and 2007 HFC sold PPI with 75% of their loans, resulting in over 160,000 customers paying for PPI without consenting.

Who bought out Household International? ›

LONDON -- Making a giant bet on the lower end of the wobbly U.S. economy, HSBC Holdings PLC, the world's second-biggest banking company, agreed to buy consumer lender Household International Inc. for $16.15 billion. The move is a striking departure for HSBC, long known for its parsimony and aversion to flashy deals.

Who bought out household retail services? ›

as Household Retail Services, Inc. The company was incorporated in 1971 and is based in Wood Dale, Illinois. HSBC Retail Services, Inc. operates as a subsidiary of HSBC Finance Corp.

When did HFC bank close? ›

HFC Bank Ltd was placed in liquidation on 13th January 2017.

Is HSBC being taken over by Citizens Bank? ›

HSBC branches now rebranded as Citizens

The acquisition extends Citizens' physical presence to several attractive markets and adds more than 800,000 new customer accounts, accelerating the bank's national expansion strategy.

Is HSBC switching to Citizens Bank? ›

All HSBC branches included in this transition have now reopened as Citizens branches. Refer to the Business Accounts Timeline for complete details about the transition.

Did HSBC merger with Citizens Bank? ›

The acquisition of Investors, along with the recently completed acquisition of HSBC's East Coast branches and national online deposit business, enhances Citizens' banking franchise, adding an attractive middle market/small business and consumer customer base.

Why is HSBC closing down? ›

Why is HSBC closing its branches? HSBC has said that it is closing its branches as a result of more and more customers choosing to bank online rather than in person. The bank said that less than 50% of its customers now regularly use its branch network, with footfall dropping sharply over the last five years.

Is HSBC a Chinese owned bank? ›

It is owned by the Hongkong and Shanghai Banking Corporation Limited, the founding member of the HSBC Group, which was established in Hong Kong and Shanghai in 1865. HSBC China incorporated the previous Mainland offices of its parent.

Is HSBC closing in the UK? ›

The move follows the closure of a further 82 HSBC branches last year.
...
Full list of the 69 HSBC UK branches to close between July and October 2022.
Branch locationDate of closure
Lymington, Hampshire4 August 2022
Merry Hill, Birmingham28 July 2022
Monmouth, Monmouthshire26 July 2022
Moorgate, London21 July 2022
64 more rows
15 Mar 2022

Who bought Household Retail Services? ›

as Household Retail Services, Inc. The company was incorporated in 1971 and is based in Wood Dale, Illinois. HSBC Retail Services, Inc. operates as a subsidiary of HSBC Finance Corp.

Who did HSBC sell their mortgages to? ›

HSBC Finance Corp. and HSBC Bank USA NA agreed and completed Feb.

Is Capital One owned by HSBC? ›

No, HSBC is not owned by Capital One, though Capital One acquired most of HSBC's U.S. credit card business in 2012 for a reported $2.6 billion. HSBC is currently owned by HSBC Holdings plc, which is a public limited company incorporated in England and headquartered in London.

Who owns Beneficial Bank UK? ›

Beneficial downsized this business and emphasized its second mortgage business. In 1998, the company was purchased by Household International, Inc., for about $8.25 billion in stock. Household International was in turn acquired by HSBC Group in 2003, and made a part of the HSBC Finance Company.

When did HSBC buy household? ›

Household was bought for $14.8 billion in 2003, in HSBC's biggest ever acquisition, led by former chairman John Bond.

When did HFC bank close? ›

HFC Bank Ltd was placed in liquidation on 13th January 2017.

Is HSBC still in business? ›

HSBC serves customers worldwide from offices in 64 countries and territories in its geographical regions: Europe, Asia, North America, Latin America, and Middle East and North Africa. With assets of US$2,959bn at 31 March 2021, HSBC is one of the world's largest banking and financial services organisations.

Is HSBC being taken over by Citizens Bank? ›

HSBC branches now rebranded as Citizens

The acquisition extends Citizens' physical presence to several attractive markets and adds more than 800,000 new customer accounts, accelerating the bank's national expansion strategy.

Is HSBC switching to Citizens Bank? ›

All HSBC branches included in this transition have now reopened as Citizens branches. Refer to the Business Accounts Timeline for complete details about the transition.

Did HSBC merger with Citizens Bank? ›

The acquisition of Investors, along with the recently completed acquisition of HSBC's East Coast branches and national online deposit business, enhances Citizens' banking franchise, adding an attractive middle market/small business and consumer customer base.

Why is Capital One closing so many branches? ›

In other cases, such as with Capital One, the consolidation was attributed to changing customer preferences. The Capital One branch network has fallen steadily from 702 across the country in 2016 to 327 in 2021. “Our customers are increasingly engaging with us digitally”, stated Capital One spokesman Derek Conrad.

Is Capital One changing its name? ›

According to an email sent to customers, ING Direct will become Capital One 360. The move follows Capital One's acquisition of ING Direct USA, the largest direct bank in the country, last June. In addition to the name change, ING's orange will be replaced by dark blue and maroon.

What bank is Capital One owned by? ›

On July 21, 1994, Richmond, Virginia-based Signet Financial Corp (now part of Wells Fargo) announced the corporate spin-off of its credit card division, OakStone Financial, naming Richard Fairbank as CEO. Signet renamed the subsidiary Capital One in October 1994, and the spin-off was completed in February 1995.

When did Beneficial Finance go out of business? ›

Back in 2007, Beneficial Finance, the non-prime retail mortgage unit of HSBC bank, closed roughly 300 offices nationwide, resulting in the loss of 1,500 jobs.

Who took over Household bank FSB? ›

First Fidelity Bancorp. continued its drive into the Maryland market yesterday, announcing that it agreed to take over 24 branches of Household Bank FSB, increasing its share of deposits in the state by more than 50 percent.

What is HFC company? ›

2. What is Housing Finance Company (HFC)? HFC means a Non-Banking Finance Company (NBFC) licensed by the Commission to provide housing finance services.

Videos

1. MAY 2022 CSES SOCIAL STUDIES PAPER 2 OPTION C (CONSUMER AFFAIRS QUESTION)THRIFT
(GRIFFITHS CSEC CLASS)
2. House - Banking & Consumer Affairs Subcommittee - March 2, 2022
(Tennessee House of Representatives)
3. American Home Shield Review - Theophilus
(ConsumerAffairs)
4. Caliber Home Loans Review - Marsela
(ConsumerAffairs)
5. Vivint Smart Home Review - Claudia
(ConsumerAffairs)
6. American Home Shield Review - Oscar
(ConsumerAffairs)

Top Articles

Latest Posts

Article information

Author: Corie Satterfield

Last Updated: 11/27/2022

Views: 5749

Rating: 4.1 / 5 (62 voted)

Reviews: 85% of readers found this page helpful

Author information

Name: Corie Satterfield

Birthday: 1992-08-19

Address: 850 Benjamin Bridge, Dickinsonchester, CO 68572-0542

Phone: +26813599986666

Job: Sales Manager

Hobby: Table tennis, Soapmaking, Flower arranging, amateur radio, Rock climbing, scrapbook, Horseback riding

Introduction: My name is Corie Satterfield, I am a fancy, perfect, spotless, quaint, fantastic, funny, lucky person who loves writing and wants to share my knowledge and understanding with you.